The Shakespeare Globe Centre of Canada


Having established Centres in five countries by the mid-1980s, Sam Wanamaker began work on establishing a centre in Canada. With their strong links on both sides of the Atlantic, Christina and Lyle Blair were well placed to found the Shakespeare Globe Centre of Canada. It was set up in Toronto in 1985 and officially as a not-for-profit organisation in 1990, with a board of distinguished Canadians including eminent Shakespearean scholar Professor John Orrell, who had long been associated with the Globe project, and Hollywood actor Christopher Plummer.

The Canadian Library

Professor Galloway and Professor Rowan of the University of New Brunswick had long been in contact with Sam Wanamaker as valuable research contacts for the project and agreed to donate their extensive research libraries to the Globe. The Canadian Library, as the collection is known, was donated to the Shakespeare Globe Centre of Canada, who in turn agreed a long-term loan to the Globe in London. The books were catalogued by research scholars at the University of Toronto from 1998-9 and arrived in London in August 1999. They are currently stored in the Globe Education Centre until the completion of the Globe's research and library facilities on the West Piazza for which they will form the nucleus.


Since its foundation in 1985, SGC Canada has organised a number of successful fundraising events. SGC Canada has worked in collaboration with SGC Canada Patron, classical actor and Hollywood star Christopher Plummer, to establish the original Christopher Plummer Fellowship Award. This scholarship was presented annually until 2009 to a Canadian actor in order to study as part of the International Actors’ Fellowship Residency program at the Globe in London. SGC Canada has also collaborated with Past- Patron Albert Schultz in establishing new programs, such as the Word Festival at the Young Centre for the Arts. 

As of 2013, the SGC Canada is introducing two new awards: The Christopher Plummer Fellowship Award of Excellence and the Bluma Appel Award.


Christina Blair,  Jeannette Lambermont-Morey, 

Christopher Plummer, Lyle Blair and Elaine Plummer

The Shakespeare Globe Centre of Canada

invites applications for the biennial

Bluma Appel Mentorship Award for Directors

This award is for an advanced directing study placement at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London, England.  The winning candidate will be matched with a mentor director in the 2017 mainstage season.  Duties and experience will also include understudy rehearsals, running blogs, actor interviews and workshops with the education department.

Our previous winner, Kevin Bennett, assisted Jonathan Munby on his production of  The Merchant of Venice in 2015, and is currently leading a world tour of the production.

Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.

Applicants must be Canadian citizens and have at least three years’ directing experience, with a focus on classical material. 

The award covers all costs related to the placement (including airfare), plus a weekly stipend of $850 (Cdn) toward living expenses. SGCC and the Globe Theatre will also assist with finding billeting accommodations.

The placement is approximately 12 weeks long, depending on the mentor/show, and will begin in the spring of 2017. Final confirmation of mentor, dates and production will be announced in November 2016.

Application deadline:    August 15, 2016, 5 p.m.

Applications must include:  A letter explaining why you are interested in this placement, your resume/CV, and three letters of reference. 

Mail to: SGCC Bluma Appel Directors Award

c/o Jeannette Lambermont-Morey

30 Newport Avenue, Toronto, ON,

M1L 1H9


email in a single pdf to: